Skip to main content
jump to navigation
The Official Site of Minor League Baseball
Below is an advertisement.
Texas League All-Star rosters revealed
Host Arenado to lead North against South's Profar, Singleton
06/14/2012 5:00 PM ET
Arenado and Profar are among baseball's most closely watched prospects.
Arenado and Profar are among baseball's most closely watched prospects. (Walt Barnard/
The Tulsa Drillers not only host the June 28 Texas League All-Star game; they also will have the most say in the exhibition's outcome.

Eight Drillers, including third baseman and slugger Nolan Arenado, will lead the North Division squad against the South at ONEOK Field. The South's Frisco RoughRiders, which also have a game-high eight players participating, will have the opportunity to hold the Drillers and their peers down: Four RoughRiders pitchers were named to the team, including starters Barret Loux (11-0) and Justin Grimm (8-3), who room together and are first and second in the league in wins.

If, however, the 2011 All-Star Gameis any indication, Tulsa will enjoy its home-field advantage. The Missions' James Darnwell was named MVP in the South's win last year in San Antonio.

In terms of prospects, the game will also be star-studded. The North's Arenado (Rockies), Jean Segura (Angels), Oscar Taveras and Kolten Wong (Cardinals) and the South's Jurickson Profar and Mike Olt (Rangers) and Jonathan Singleton (Astros) are all among's Top 100 . Fellow heralded farmhands Jarred Cosart (Astros), Michael Choice and Sonny Gray (A's) weren't voted to the team, while Jedd Gyorko (Padres), Wil Myers and Jake Odorizzi (Royals) likely would have made it if not for their recent promotions to the Pacific Coast League -- not mention Robbie Erlin (Padres), who is injured.

The rosters, which were announced Thursday afternoon, were selected by polling each division's managers and broadcasters.

North Division
Lars Davis C Tulsa
John Whittleman 1B NW Arkansas
Kolten Wong 2B Springfield
Nolan Arenado 3B NW Arkansas
Josh Rutledge SS Tulsa
Yem Prades OF NW Arkansas
Oscar Taveras OF Springfield
Carlo Testa OF NW Arkansas
Christian Colon DH NW Arkansas
Audry Perez C Springfield
Jermaine Curtis INF Springfield
Ben Paulsen INF Tulsa
Jean Segura INF Arkansas
Roberto Lopez OF Arkansas
Keith Butler RHP Springfield
Edwar Cabrera LHP Tulsa
Dan Houston RHP Tulsa
Patrick Keating RHP NW Arkansas
Justin Marks LHP NW Arkansas
Ariel Pena RHP Arkansas
Trevor Rosenthal RHP Springfield
Nick Schmidt LHP Tulsa
A.J. Schugel RHP Arkansas
Coty Woods RHP Tulsa
Field Staff
Duane Espy Manager Tulsa
Dave Schuler Pitching Coach Tulsa
Kevin Riggs Batting Coach Tulsa
Austin O'Shea Athletic Trainer Tulsa
South Division
Ali Solis C San Antonio
Nate Freiman 1B San Antonio
Jose Martinez 2B Corpus Christi
Mike Olt 3B Frisco
Jurickson Profar SS Frisco
Jeremy Barfield OF Midland
Engel Beltre OF Frisco
Shane Peterson** OF Midland
Jonathan Singleton DH Corpus Christi
Zach Zaneski C Frisco
Anthony Aliotti INF Midland
Dean Anna INF San Antonio
Jonathan Villar INF Corpus Christi
Conner Crumbliss** OF Midland
Chad Bell LHP Frisco
Jake Brigham RHP Frisco
Kevin Chapman LHP Corpus Christi
Justin Grimm RHP Frisco
Barret Loux RHP Frisco
Brett Oberholtzer LHP Corpus Christi
Jonathan Ortiz RHP Midland
Murphy Smith RHP Midland
Jason Stoffel RHP Corpus Christi
Dan Straily RHP Midland
Field Staff
John Gibbons Manager San Antonio
Tom Tornicasa Coach San Antonio
Nathan Stewart Athletic Trainer San Antonio

** Midland's Shane Peterson was named to replace injured Austin Wates of Corpus Christi as a starter. Midland's Conner Crumbliss was named to replace Shane Peterson as the reserve outfielder.

Andrew Pentis is a contributor to Follow him on Twitter at AndrewMiLB. This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs. Comments
Today on